Graham appointed to County Treasurer post

Glenn Parrish
Mickey Oates has stepped down as County Treasurer.

The Logan County Quorum Court last week declared a vacancy in the role of county treasurer and appointed Teresa Graham to fill the spot.

When it met for its regularly scheduled meeting on June 9, the Court was informed that County Treasurer Mickey Oates had opted to retire from her position effective June 30.

“I hate that Mickey is retiring but I’m glad we’ve got someone who can step in and is familiar with the county,” Logan County Judge Ray Gack said after Graham was appointed last week.

Graham has been with the county for 18 years and was serving as the county’s operations manager under Gack.

Oates had worked in the Treasurer’s office since 1998 and was elected to the position in 2010.

“It’s been an honor to serve the people of Logan County,” Oates said. “But I had to make a decision and it came down to who’s first, my family or my job.”

After Oates announced she was stepping down, the county advertised the open position and received interest from four applicants, all of whom were interviewed by a personnel committee last Wednesday, Gack said.

Because county officer holders were changed to four-year terms with the 2018 election Graham will replace Oates through the end of 2022.

However, due to state law, Graham cannot seek to retain the position for the next term, Gack said.

Oates’ vacancy is not the only one in the county as Justice of the Peace District 3 representative Lindell Parsons has moved out of his district and resigned, Gack said.

Because Parson is a Republican the county’s Republican committee submitted a request for a replacement for Parsons and Gack informed Governor Asa Hutchinson of the vacancy along with that suggestion.

However, Gack said, the governor has not acted on the request as yet.

When the position is filled the JP will serve through the end of this year and cannot run for the position in 2020. JPs are elected every two years.

Teresa Graham is the new Logan County Treasurer.