NORTH LITTLE ROCK - Cody Harrel of Booneville was named the Class 4A defensive player of the year last week in a banquet in North Little Rock.

Forty-five finalists and their families from across the state attended the 2013 Farm Bureau Awards last Monday night.

The Farm Bureau Awards honor Arkansas’ top offensive player, defensive player and coach of the year for each classification. The veteran staff at Hooten’s Arkansas Football selects three finalists for each category, and those 45 finalists and their families are invited to attend the Farm Bureau Awards Dec. 16 in North Little Rock.

As of Friday, Harrel had been on a football field with all six Class 4A finalists.

Defensive finalists along with Harrel were Kendrick Newton of Warren and Michael Perry of Pottsville. Drake Jones of Warren won the 4A offensive player award over other finalists Tyler Cummings of Lincoln and Josh Liddell of Pine Bluff Dollarway.

The 4A coach of the year was Shannon Sherman of Valley View, who lost to Warren in the semifinals. Other finalists were Brad Harris of Lincoln and Bo Hembree of Warren.

Farm Bureau vice president-general manager David Moore said, "We congratulate our 15 winners. All 45 finalists represent some of the best coaches and student-athletes in our state. Farm Bureau is proud to honor excellence as the title sponsor of this outstanding event.