With only three different teams winning the Mike Fleming Memorial golf tournament over the last seven years, and only eight in 15 years, most teams in the field have little aspiration of claiming the title.

But this year, even before an eagle by Larry Patterson and Jason Smart on the 18th hole on Sunday, it was apparent, there would at least be an end of the run by the teams of Jerry Hix and Doc Crowley, Randall Wheat and Andy Perdue, and Deanie Woodard and Bradley Bland.

Only one previous champion, and none of the previous three, even made the championship flight at the tournament played annually at Cherokee Creek Country Club in Booneville.

It took a first round of 62 or better to make the six team flight in the two-man scramble and it was the duo of Patterson and Smart who shot a 21-under 60-63 123 to win their first Memorial. Patterson and Smart, who shot the only 60 on Saturday, won the second flight a year ago.

The runner-up for 2013 was the team of Lensing and Kerry Lott with back-to-back 62s, 124 to finish one stroke back. Third was 2003 champion Rick Wiser, Sr. and Matt Wiser who shot a 61-65, 126 to finish three shots back.

Also in the championship flight were Kelly Carolan and Brady Dobs at 130 (62-68), Jarod Gossett and Erik Danielson at 131 (61-70) and Jonathan Broniste and Alan Whitson at 132 (62-70).

Held the second weekend in June each year, the tournament is organized by friends of the late Mike Fleming after he was killed in a head-on collision on Oct. 26, 1997. Fleming was a 1983 Booneville High School graduate.

A halfback/linebacker, Fleming scored 15 touchdowns during his senior season of 1982 to lead the Bearcats to the playoffs for the first time under Doug Scheel.

The playoff appearance both ended a three-year playoff drought and started a streak of seven straight appearances by Booneville.

In his only playoff game, Fleming ran for 169 yards in a losing effort (45-24) against Walnut Ridge. Included in that total is a 60-yard touchdown run.

In addition to the 1,172 yards Fleming rushed for during the 1982 season, he also recorded 150 tackles.

During his career, Fleming gained 1,613 yards and scored 26 touchdowns, five two-point conversions and kicked two extra points for 168 total points scored.

In a tightly grouped field of 89 teams there were seven additional flights, all of which — except for the final flight — were established with teams separated by no more than two strokes when play began for the final round Sunday.

Jim Hix and Rick Wiser, Jr. shot a 63-61, 124 (-20) to win the 10-team first flight, taking the flight in a tiebreaker over 2006 and 2012 champions Jerry Hix and Doc Crowley who also shot 63-61. Third in the first flight were three time champions (2009-2011) Randall Wheat and Andy Perdue at 63-63, 126 (-18).

Remaining flight placements were:

2nd flight (12 teams)

Fleming/C.Crowley 65-65, 130 (-14)

Hicks/Hibbs 66-69, 135 (-9)

Chambers/Core 67-69, 136 (-8)

3rd flight (12 teams)

Washburn/Greene 68-67, 135 (-9)

Woodard/Bland 69-69, 138 (-8)

Schlinker/Whitehead 69-69, 138 (-8)

4th flight (12 teams)

Tillery/Harmon 71-73, 144 (Even)

Lunsford/Traffensted 71-73, 144 (Even)

Deeds/Deeds 71-74, 145 (+1)

5th flight (13 teams)

Furr/Oldridge 74-69, 143 (-1)

Denham/McKee 75-71, 146 (+2)

Tucker/Covey 75-72, 147 (+3)

6th flight (11 teams)

Haney/Cross 76-74, 150 (+8)

Green/Green 76-77, 153 (+9)

Short/Short 76-79, 155 (+11)

7th flight (13 teams)

Case/Ingram 79-74, 153 (+9)

Scott/Roberts 80-74, 154 (+10)

Wilkins/Bulger 82-76, 158 (+14)