The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider seven Arkansas properties, including the Booneville Commercial Historic District in Logan County, for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets today (April 3).

The district’s nomination will be taken up in a 10 a.m. meeting in the Bessie B. Moore Conference Room of the Arkansas State Library at 900 West Capitol in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced last week.

The Booneville Commercial historic district on North Broadway and East Main and East First streets features buildings constructed between 1906 and 1950.

"The district has a strong visual connection to its period of significance," according to the National Register nomination. "The district is situated between the railroad tracks and a major Arkansas state highway and retains it historic importance of location.

"The alterations on the fronts of the buildings occurred between the mid-1950s and the present. Most of the modifications made to buildings have been to the store fronts. Stone is a prevalent building material in the district and reflects the vernacular use of indigenous materials."

The Booneville Historic Preservation Society has led the effort seeking National Registry inclusion according to BHPS secretary Vanessa Wyrick. The effort has taken about two years she said.

If accepted the historic district would be the second in Booneville. Covering 900 acres and the largest in the country, the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District earned historic district designation in 2006.

Also on the National Registry are the Bank of Booneville building at 1 West Main — currently the Andrews Agency — (1978), Farmers and Merchants Bank/Masonic Lodge at 288 North Broadway (1993), the Logan County Courthouse, Southern Judicial District at the corner of Fourth and North Broadway (1997), and most recently, the Booneville Methodist Episcopal Church South in 2011.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination along with the downtown historic district are the Dunbar Historic District at Little Rock in Pulaski County; Moose Addition Historic District at Morrilton in Conway County; President’s House and Rushton Clinic at Magnolia in Columbia County; Mounds Cemetery at Columbus in Hempstead County; Adrian Fletcher House at Fayetteville in Washington County.

The board also will consider the Walnut Grove Cemetery at Cord in Independence County and Bryan-Sadler House at Van Buren in Crawford County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for recognition for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.