Assigned to Logan, Franklin counties.

Thirty-eight Arkansas State Police Trooper Recruits, including two Booneville High School alums, graduated on July 19 and will begin their careers patrolling state highways within the department’s Highway Patrol Division.

The graduation ceremony was held at Pleasant Valley Country Club, Little Rock.

Quinton “Tyler” Porter, 26, will be assigned to Highway Patrol Division, Troop H, Logan County. Porter is also a former Logan County Deputy Sheriff.

James Ray, 21, will be assigned to Highway Patrol Division, Troop H, Franklin County.

The recruits reported to the Arkansas State Police Training Academy in Little Rock on Feb. 25, and during the past 21 weeks each recruit has accumulated more than 1,000 hours of classroom and practical training.

Major General Mark H. Berry, Adjutant General of the Arkansas National Guard, was the keynote speaker addressing the graduates and assisted Colonel Bill Bryant, Director of the Arkansas State Police, in presenting the new troopers their certification and commission credentials.

Arkansas Supreme Court Chief Justice John Dan Kemp administered the Oath of State Trooper Commission.

Other dignitaries present for the ceremony included representatives of the Arkansas State Police Commission, department deputy directors, and division, troop and company commanders assigned across the department.

Upon reporting for duty at their respective troop headquarters, the new troopers will be placed with a certified departmental Field Training Officer (FTO). Each graduate will work in tandem with their respective FTO for a transitional period prior to being released to their assignment.