LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas State Plant Board said Wednesday it has added Drew County to a list of counties where the emerald ash borer, an invasive beetle that feeds on and kills ash trees, has been confirmed.

Drew County was already included in a 33-county quarantine as a buffer county, meaning it was adjacent to a county where the beetle was confirmed, the board said in a news release.

The quarantine was established in September 2014 and expanded in October 2016 in an effort to slow the movement of the emerald ash borer.

Items that are quarantined, meaning they cannot be transported outside of the quarantine area, include firewood of all hardwood species and the following ash items: nursery stock; green lumber with bark attached; other material living, dead, cut or fallen including logs, pulpwood, stumps, roots, branches, mulch and composted or uncomposted chips of 1 inch or greater.

Surveying for further movement of the pest will be completed by September, at which time the Plant Board will decide whether to expand the quarantine.

A map showing all the counties included in the quarantine, is available at