Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Logan County held its Fall Awards event at the First National Bank Community Center, Tuesday, Oct. 18.

Scholars were awarded their fall scholarships, each of their children received a gift for being so helpful and supportive of their mom’s academic efforts to improve their economic status and the future opportunities for themselves and their children.

All the scholars are working toward advanced degrees or certificates in fields they have chosen. This fall SPSFLC will have three students completing their programs of study and all of them have been scholars of SPSFLC for the entire time of their studies.

The following scholars received spring scholarships: Nikki Anderson sponsored by First National Bank with a major in Business at ATU-Ozark; Angela Brown sponsored by Michael Morton in Memory of Truett & Royce Davis Raney, with a major in Medical Assistant at ATU-Ozark; Nichole Franklin sponsored by Arkansas Department of Higher Education with a major in Early childhood Education at UAFS; Lacy Fry sponsored by Entergy Corporation with a major in Computer & Information Sciences at ATU-Ozark; Amanda Kremers sponsored by Harvey Johns in Memory of Arch & Lillie Johns, seeking an RN degree at ATU-Ozark; and Amanda Vaught sponsored by the Order of St. Lazarus with a major in Biological Sciences/Speech Pathology at UCA.

The guest speaker was Dr. Carmen Steigman, instructor at Subiaco Academy. Dr. Steigman gave an amazing explanation of how each of our scholars had been chosen to live the life they are living and how this choice had made the opportunity for them to excel in life and their professions. She detailed what amazing role models they are and will continue to be for their children as they go forward in their chosen professions.

The officers of SPSFLC presided at the awards event: Jessica Philmon, Chair; Erin Baker, Vice Chair & Scholarship Chair; Lee Lane, Secretary; Jessica Philmon, acting Treasurer; Kay Johns, Golf chair; Rob Kopack, Scholarship Committee; Carmen Steigman.

Anyone interested in applying for Spring or spring scholarships should contact Erin Baker 849-5620 or

Those interested in joining the board contact Jessica Philmon 438-0013 or