Early voting for the Sept. 20 school election starts Tuesday, Sept. 13, and as is typically the case early voting could pay a key role in the outcome.

Of course for the past four years, where there were no contested races, early voting played the only role in the decision as the Booneville School Board approved resolutions to that effect.

However, this year there is a single race between Derrick Wagner and Tyson Washburn. The men are looking to succeed current board president Stacey McCollough, who holds Position 2, and who chose not to seek a second five-year term on the board.

Along with McCollough, incumbent Todd Preston is also leaving the board’s Position 5 seat. Preston chose not to seek re-election after a decade on the board and will be replaced by Todd Tatum, who is unopposed.

The ballot features a third race which is also unopposed. Robert Haynes is campaigning for the final year of the Position 3 term originally secured by Bill Oliver. Oliver left the board in December and Haynes was appointed to complete the year, but he must run for the remainder of the term.

In Magazine, incumbent Danny Loyd is seeking another five-year term on the board. Loyd is unopposed and Magazine has no contested race for the second straight year.