For the 10th consecutive year, Magazine played host to the District and Regional cross country championships.

The junior girls came in projected third behind Johnson County Westside and Danville. But led by All Conference freshman, Carlee Parrish, the Lady Rattlers brought home the title and second overall to Western Yell County in the 12-school meet.

Parrish won a bronze medal in conference competition in leading the girls to the win. She was followed by Charity Crawford (10th), Teanna Presley, Adalyn Staton, and Trinity Bull. Parrish and Crawford were named All Conference.

Janet Balbuena of WYC won the individual title.

Not to be outdone, the junior boys won the district championship as well. Ashton Droemer was the 2A-4 individual champion with Nate Bryan, Sam Warner, Tatum Scott, Dan Witt, and Connor Ryan all medaling. William King finished off the Rattler scoring.

They also took second overall behind Decatur. Andres Revolorio of Decatur was the overall winner in the junior boys division.

Lauren Ryan’s individual gold medal led the senior girls to district runner-up. Carlee Parrish and Taryn Leslie also medaled leading Michal-Ann Dobson and Sarai Parrish to the hardware. The Lady Rattlers finished fourth in the region.

Andrea Balbuena of WYC was the individual regional champion. Ryan was Named All Region and was All Conference along with Carlee Parrish and Leslie.

The senior boys division was so competitive with five Rattlers setting PRs and still having to settle for runner up honors behind Class 2A #2 Eureka Springs. Levi Wright medaled in 17:58, John Lor medaled in 19:17, Jesse Witt medaled in 19:53.

He was followed in scoring by Josh Cox, Javier Aparisi, Nate Bryan, and Micheal Roark.

They finished as Regional runner up behind Eureka Springs who was led by individual Regional champion Kayden Eckman.

Droemer, Bryan, Warner, Scott, Witt, and Ryan were accorded All Conference in Jr. Boys while Wright, Witt, and Lor made All Conference in senior high with Wright and Lor were named to the All Region team.

The day’s titles raised the Rattler cross country/track and field conference championship tally to 51.