It wasn’t quite the last minute, but Booneville Mayor Jerry Wilkins did file to seek a fourth four-year term on the last day of the filing period.

Wilkins ended months long speculation and debate as to whether he would want an additional term at about 8:20 when he turned his candidacy petition into the Logan County Clerk’s office in the courthouse.

Although at least three others had reportedly shown an interest in the office, Wilkins did not draw an opponent as the three-week filing period ended at noon Friday.

Wilkins was first elected in 2002 emerging from a field of four candidates. He was unopposed in 2006 and beat back a single challenger in 2010.

With the exception of the Booneville City Clerk position — held for 24 years by Melinda Smith, who will not be seeking reelection — the filing period closed with no more than a single candidate in all positions in the three south Logan County cities.

In the clerk race Stacy Brown, Gaylene West and Marilyn K. Rogers all filed for the race.

The Booneville City Council will feature two new faces. Both Brad Smith and Steve Reid filed Friday.

Smith filed for the Ward 2, Position 2 seat previously held by Bret Haller, who had resigned from the seat after moving out of the city limits. Reid, a Booneville Police Department Lieutenant, filed for the Ward 3, Position 1 seat currently held by Stanley Bryant.

Bryan announced earlier in the week he would not be seeking a seventh term.

The remainder of the Booneville City Council will include incumbents Guy A. Robson in Ward 1, Position 1; Eddie Gossett in Ward 1, Position 2; Larry D. Mitchell II in Ward 2, Position 1; and Milburn Brewster in Ward 3, Position 2.

In Magazine Stanley McConnell filed for another four years. Recorder/Treasurer Vicki Smith was elected to a four-year term in 2012.

Aldermen filing in Magazine were Donald R. West in Ward 2, Position 1; Russell Weaver in Ward 1, Position 2; Sammy Smith in Ward 2, Position 1; John D. Jones, Jr. in Ward 2, Position 2; John D. Roberts in Ward 3, Position 1 and Joe B. Cheney in Ward 3 Position 2.

Weaver, Smith and Jones are all seeking positions that were left open in 2012.

In Blue Mountain incumbent Mayor Alvin "Dale" Dickens will be unopposed. Recorder/Treasurer Sharon Leach was elected to a four-year term in 2012.

Aldermen filing in Blue Mountain were Bradley V. Keahey in Position 1, Larry Mollet in Position 2, Ruth Marshall in Position 3, Debra Dickens in Position 4 and James Doyle Marshall in Position 5. All are incumbents