LITTLE ROCK — The state Board of Education on Thursday added the Hector and Lee County school districts to the state’s list of fiscally distressed districts.

The board also removed the Mineral Springs Schools District from the list.

The Hector and Lee County districts have declining fund balances, state Department of Education officials reported to the board. Neither district objected to the classification.

A fiscally distressed Arkansas school district has five years to turn its finances around or face mandatory consolidation with one or more districts. The state board can order a state takeover of a fiscally distressed district at any time if the district is unable to address its financial problems.

Also Thursday, the board voted to remove the Mineral Springs district from fiscal-distress status, which it had been under since the 2012-13 school year. The district has corrected all of the issues that led to the classification, Department of Education officials reported to the board.