OZARK––Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus will host a dedication ceremony for the Tyson Foods Logan County Career Center at 2008 Wood Street in Paris at 10 a.m. on Monday, Jan. 22.

The Tyson Foundation provided a $266,600 grant to assist in the construction of the new educational facility. The building will serve as an Arkansas Tech Career Center (ATCC) satellite location in Paris.

The ATCC satellite at Paris serves high school students from Scranton, Magazine, and Paris. The satellite enables access to credit-bearing credential, certificate and degree attainments offered through Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus. The classes will provide high school students with concurrent college credit at no charge. Adult learners will also have the opportunity to take both GED coursework and industry training classes as a result of the new facility.

The state of the art facility will allow Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus to provide courses in automation technology, allied health and adult education in the Paris community. A $644,034 regional workforce grant from the Arkansas Department of Higher Education allowed ATU-Ozark to purchase equipment needed for each program.

“The establishment of the Tyson Foods Logan County Career Center will provide students and employers with educational access to relevant industry training in the high demand fields of automation and allied health," Arkansas Tech-Ozark Chancellor Bruce Sikes stated. "We plan on serving entry-level secondary students from the area schools as well as adult learners in need of job training opportunities.

"Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus appreciates the public and private efforts of the Paris Public Schools, the city of Paris, Tyson Foods, the Economic Development Administration, local and state officials and the leadership of our Governor. Arkansas Tech University is committed to providing the communities it serves with educational programming in support of economic initiatives.”

Scheduled speakers for the dedication include Governor Asa Hutchinson; Paris School District Superintendent Wayne Fawcett, Dr. Lee Lane of Paris Economic Development, Regional Director of Economic Development Administration Jorge D. Ayala, Paris Chamber of Commerce Director Tonya Baumgartner, Mike Rogers of Tyson Foods, President of Arkansas Tech University Dr. Robin E. Bowen; Senator Gary Stubblefield, Representative Jon Eubanks, and Sikes, Chancellor.