Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Logan County held its Spring Awards Event at the First National Bank Community Center on March 28.

Scholars were awarded their spring scholarships, each of their children received a gift for being so helpful and supportive of their mom’s academic efforts to improve their economic status and the future opportunities for themselves and their children.

All the scholars are working toward advanced degrees or certificates in fields they have chosen. This Spring SPSFLC has five students working on their programs of study.

The following scholars received Spring scholarships: Angela Brown sponsored by Dr. Teri Cox and Michael Morton in memory of Truett and Royce Davis Raney; Kimberly Estes sponsored by the Order of St. Lazarus and Buck Johns, in memory of Rusty and Tody Johns; Amanda Kremers sponsored by Harvey Johns, in memory of Arch and Lillie Johns; Mary Jane Campbell in memory of Tom Buck and Doris Johns; Sandra Powell sponsored by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education and the Odom Law Firm; Amanda Vaughn sponsored by Tyson Foods, Inc. and First National Bank.

Each of the sponsors provide $500 or more toward the presented scholarships. The sponsors are essential to the success of the Single Parent Scholarship Fund and the continued maintenance of scholarships for these dedicated single parents.

The new officers of SPSFLC presided at the awards event: Kay Johns, Erin Baker, Del Berry, Lee Lane, Carmen Steigman, Jessica Philmon.

Anyone interested in applying for Summer or Fall Scholarships should contact Erin Baker at 479-849-5620 or Those interested in joining the board contact Kay Johns, 479-438-2067