LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas has received $14.2 million in federal money for emergency repairs to parts of the state’s highway system damaged by severe weather, the Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department said Tuesday.

The money, provided through the Federal Highway Administration’s Emergency Relief Program, will fund repairs to highways damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred between Dec. 23, 2015, and Jan. 22, 2016.

Flooding caused extensive pavement damage and erosion at bridges and culverts, and the storms triggered erosion and landslides on many highway shoulders and embankments, the Highway Department said.

The following counties are eligible for disaster relief: Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Drew, Franklin, Logan, Madison, Ouachita, Perry, Polk, Searcy, Washington, Baxter, Chicot, Crawford, Jackson, Jefferson, Little River, Marion, Montgomery, Sebastian, Bradley, Clay, Desha, Faulkner, Greene, Johnson, Randolph, Scott, Sevier, White, Yell, Boone, Izard, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Newton, Dallas, Independence, Mississippi, Newton and Woodruff.

On Dec. 10, 2016, Congress provided $1 billion in supplemental emergency relief funds to address a growing backlog of emergency relief funds needed nationwide.