LITTLE ROCK — The state Board of Education on Thursday removed 14 schools from focus or priority status, the two lowest classifications schools can receive under the current school-accountability system.

State education officials said the schools were identified as having met all criteria for removal from the classifications, as defined by the U.S. Department of Education.

The schools are Indian Hills Elementary School in North Little Rock; Maumelle Middle School; Pulaski Heights Middle School in Little Rock; Dewitt Middle School; Wilmot Elementary School in Hamburg; Oark High School in Jasper; Health/Wellness and Environmental Studies Magnet School in Jonesboro; Central Elementary School in Magnolia; Baldwin Elementary School in Paragould; Smackover Elementary School; Wonderview High School; and Central Junior High, Southwest Junior High and Monitor Elementary schools in Springdale.

Also Thursday, the board maintained academic-distress status for 15 schools. A school qualifies for the status if 49.5 percent or fewer of its students scored at a proficient or advanced level on standardized math and literacy tests over the past three years.

The schools are Dollarway High and Robert F. Morehead Middle schools in the Dollarway School District in Pine Bluff; Forrest City High and Junior High schools and Lincoln Academy in Forrest City; Covenant Keepers Charter School in Little Rock; Cloverdale Middle, Henderson Middle and Hall High schools in Little Rock; Wilbur D. Mills High School in the Pulaski County Special School District; Blytheville Middle School; Central High School in Helena-West Helena; Hope High School; Marvell-Elaine High School; and Strong High School.